Hoke County under 8 p.m.-6 a.m. curfew until further notice, commissioners declare; city of Raeford plans its own curfew

The Hoke County Board of Commissioners voted Sunday night at an emergency called meeting to put a curfew in place until further notice, due to concerns over “civil unrest” in neighboring Cumberland County.

The curfew takes effect today and is from 8 p.m. to 6 a.m. The board did not set an expiration date, but included in the document that the commission may cancel it at any time. The county is under a state of emergency.

The curfew ordered business in Hoke County to close at 8 p.m. unless they are included in the businesses Gov. Roy Cooper designated as “essential.” County Attorney Grady Hunt confirmed that people may still travel to and from work during the hours of curfew.

Others including first responders, medical workers, military personnel and anyone deemed an essential worker are exempt from the curfew while on duty. People may still leave their homes for necessities such as seeking medical attention or to get food, according to the document. 

For further details, please view the attached declaration. 

The county’s curfew does not include the city of Raeford. The city has its own curfew in the works, Raeford City Manager Dennis Baxley said Sunday night.

A signed version of the ordinance will be posted on the county’s website, www.hokecounty.net. The version here was given to media at the meeting.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.