Raeford mayor, two city council seats up for election this year

By Catharin Shepard • Staff writer • Elections this year will see Raeford voters go to the polls to choose who will fill several municipal offices.

Two seats on the Raeford City Council are up for election in 2021. Wayne Willis and Charles Allen are the incumbent council members.

City councilors serve four-year terms. Allen is currently serving his second four-year term in office since being elected in 2013. Willis is serving his third four-year term since being elected in 2009. Willis additionally served a partial term when he was first appointed to the board

The position of Mayor of Raeford is also up for election. Incumbent Mayor John K. McNeill is serving his fourth consecutive four-year term in office.

City council and mayoral positions in Raeford are nonpartisan. There won’t be a primary election for the municipal races. Filing for the election is expected to open this summer, with Election Day the first Tuesday in November.

Only Raeford residents, not Hoke County residents, are qualified to vote in the municipal election.

There are no countywide races on the ballot this year. Municipal election years, typically held in-between presidential and midterm election years, often have fewer races on the ballot.

For information on registering to vote or how to file to run for election, contact the county Board of Elections at 875-9062, or go online to https://www.hokecounty.net/235/Elections.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.